8th Symposium of the International Society for the History of Radiology 2019

Annual General Meeting

International Society for the History of Radiology

Friday 27thSept 2019 – 14:00

Military Hospital Brussels – Radiology Dept. – Room Dr. Dupont

Reception of the international participants of the ISHRAD event

                   Dr. René Van Tiggelen

                   Renaat Van den Broeck

Welcome by Director Military Hospital Queen Astrid

                   Col. Wouter Weuts MD

Annual General Meeting of ISHRAD

Restricted to the members of ISHRAD

Chairman: Alfredo Buzzi

Vice chairman: Uwe Busch

Secretary: Adrian Thomas

Treasurer: Arpan Banerjee


  • Business arising from last year’s AGM minutes
  • Chairperson’s report
  • Treasurer’s report
  • Discharge of the Executive Board
  • General AGM business
  • Planned ISHRAD scientific activities
  • Closure AGM

Guided tour at the Belgium Museum of Radiology

Walk through the hallways

Visit to:

  • The scenery displays of the museum
  • The historical room
  • The classroom
  • The new cabinet of curiosities

Guidance by the team of the BelMuRad

Social Event

Dinner at a restaurant in the neighbourhood of the Museum


International Society for the History of Radiology

Saturday 28thSept 2019 – 09:00

Military Hospital Brussels – Auditorium

Welcome lecture vice-president BSR

                   Dr. Denis Henroteaux

Inventors & development of CT

Allan MacLeod Cormack, CT Scan and independent discoveries in the history of science

                   Dr.Sc. Brigitte Van Tiggelen

Godfrey Hounsfield- celebrating the centenary of his birth

       Mrs. Liz Beckmann

First CT in Belgium – 6th in the world

                   Prof. Dr. Michel Collard

Early evolution of Computed Tomography: From neuro- to head & neck CT

                   Prof. Dr.Ir. Frans Zonneveld

Current progresses in CT

       Mr. Renaat Van den Broeck

Walking dinner

Digging in the Belgian past

Opening lecture co-president of the new Historical Section Belgian Society of Radiology

                   Dr. Denis De Surgeloose

Whiplash injury in 1568

                   Prof. Dr. Koen Verstraete

Stobart Unit in Antwerp in 1914

                   Prof. Dr. Adrian Thomas

Short history of the Belgian Society of Radiology and his Journal

                   Prof. Dr. Jacques Pringot

History of the Neighbouring Radiological Societies

A history of the British Institute of Radiology

                   Dr. Arpan K. Banerjee

The beginning and development of radiology in Germany

       Dr.Sc. Uwe Busch

The French Society of Radiology: Past, present, future

       Prof. Dr. Denis Krausé

History of the Nederlandse Vereniging voor Radiologie and of the Historical Commission

                   Dr. Kees J.L.R. Vellenga

Closing Lecture co-president of the Historical Section BSR

                   Dr. Jean-Paul Joris

Farewell drink: Celebrating the inauguration of the new Historical Section of the BSR

This entry was posted in Meeting, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply